No Futura, Mr Anderson?

Fantastic Mr Fox / Wes Anderson, 2009

I went to see Fantastic Mr Fox today, and was suitably stunned by the gorgeous visuals. The characters & sets really are absolutely exquisite. But what the hell was going on with the type? You won’t often hear me complain about the use of Helvetica, but what happened to Mr Anderson’s classic use of Futura? It really let it down for me, so disappointing. Also George Clooney was kind of annoying.

One response to “No Futura, Mr Anderson?

  1. I just watched it tonight. Took me a while to get around to renting the DVD. I too was confused by the switch from Futura. It was even used in most of the promotional material from what I recall, and it’s on the DVD itself, but just not in the film. Very confusing. Glad I’m not the only person that found it distracting.

Leave a Reply

