NASA 1976 Identity Guidelines: Update

NASA identity guidelines / Danne and Blackburn, 1976

What with all the press surrounding the recent retiring of the Space Shuttle, there has been considerable interest in an old post of mine from March last year. In the post, I explained how a very generous tutor from my old college found the time to scan me some pages from one of his prized possessions – an original copy of NASA’s 1976 graphics standards manual.

The document appears to be a bit of a graphic design rarity, with very little coverage on the net. Apart from the scans I posted last year, all that seems to be floating round cyberspace is this rather nice photograph:

(Apologies for the lack of a photographer credit – I can’t seem to find one)

Anyway, I thought I’d go into a little more detail by photographing some of the spreads that I’m in possession of. Remember – these are crude black and white photocopies of the real thing, and in no way convey how truly awesome this document is. Seeing everything in full colour, beautifully printed and bound is something very special for anyone interested in graphic design, or space travel. In my opinion this is one of the greatest brand identities ever created, so utterly simple and effective, completely appropriate and – as demonstrated here – executed superbly.

Enjoy a couple of spreads here, then head to my Flickr page for the full set of high-res images.

8 responses to “NASA 1976 Identity Guidelines: Update

  1. Pingback: nuzzaci / NASA 1976 guidelines /

  2. Pingback: NASA 1976 Identity Guidelines « Lieve

  3. Pingback: Nasa Manual de Identitate « zaineasca.ro

  4. Awesome! I’m thankful to you for revisiting this important, iconic, and epic work.

    Stan Faryna

    Recently on my blog: Love strongly. And other social media DOHs http://wp.me/pbg0R-nY

  5. I’m a recent graphic design student who has just been hired by a young company who wants to take their business to the next level. I cannot tell you how incredibly helpful this post of NASA’s brand identity is to me. The timing could not be any better.

  6. Pingback: NASA Corporate Brand Guidelines | BRAND INFECTION

  7. Pingback: nasa 1976 | defound - industrial design blog / inspirational and interesting design finds

  8. Pingback: Roundup Links 3/20/12 « The Prolific Neophyte

Leave a Reply

